Adding brake power booster - ckhorne's 1967 project

Won't run? Engine, cooling system, fuel pump, carb, clutch, tranny, brakes, etc. The old messages from the NPCA 'Engine & Mechanical' category are here.

Postby ckhorne » Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:33 pm

It's been a while since I've been able to work on the Patrol, but I've finally finished up with another small project on it that I'd post about. I know others have done this, but I wanted to a more complete writeup, in case someone digs this post up in the future...

The Patrol brakes have always been... sketchy. I have a single master cylinder serving all 4 wheels, and my patrol doesn't have an emergency brake. So I have zero redundancy, and using the brakes has always required a hefty foot. Some may call this "character"... I call it nerve racking.

I started looking into what it'd take to upgrade the master cylinder to a dual cylinder system. Both dual cylinder options and bore size has been discussed elsewhere, but as I was looking at my options, I realized that I could go with a vacuum boosted system for about $100 more. So... since I'm already departing from stock, I decided go for a dual master / boosted setup.

The first check was to confirm that the Patrol has enough vacuum to support a boosted system. I spent a whole night just tracking down an adapter needed for the header port (#4 in the following picture):

60-006-01.jpg

For the record, it's a 9/16"-18 thread. I ultimately needed a 3/8" diameter vacuum hose, and finally found this on amazon, which works perfectly.

Hooked up to a vacuum gauge, I'm pulling ~21 in-Hg at idle, and up to 27 during driving - plenty for booster needs.

IMG_2409.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ckhorne Offline

You know you own a Patrol when…

Postby ckhorne » Sun Nov 15, 2015 7:56 pm